College hockey concept

abqryan

For my first ever design concept I wanted to start out a bit simple. So I decided to use existing logos to create the look for a hockey team from my alma mater, New Mexico State University. The school currently has no hockey program, being in the desert southwest and all. I took some inspiration from the look of the football team as well as a bit from the general history of the school. The teams are called the Aggies and the mascot/logo is known as Pistol Pete and the colors are crimson and white. I created both a home and an away look as well as a throwback style alternate that uses some of the school's older logos from before they revamped in the mid 2000s.

I'd really appreciate any feedback or pointers, like I said this is my first attempt into the concept area and the logos are not my design but actual ones from the school.

nmsufullset_zps7510581c.gif

The logos on all three are way too big, the striping on the home and away is very templatey and I would lose the contrasting and outlined name plates. The front panel being a different color is something I have never seen before and I don't thing they would do thy on a fauxback uniform

Now that I try to take a bit of a fresh look at them I do see what you're saying about the logo size for sure. Likewise, I knew the different colored front panel was a unique look but I had not thought that would make it not so great for a more traditional style like it is meant to be, thanks for pointing it out. As for the sleeve striping, I was a bit inspired in that area by the school's current football look:

mj1828003_1_zps08bf436a.jpg?t=1369170319AndrewManleyblogphoto_zps98ec9224.jpg?t=1369170417

I do think I will work on doing some alterations based on your feedback and see how I like how it turns out.