Xara - Illustration software

BBTV

Hi. A friend and I are getting ready to start making logos for our "beer league" football and dodgeball teams, as well as for our own personal enjoyment. I'm not a pro, so I'm not going to purchase AI, but I've researched a bit and came accross a program called "Xara X1."

The price is right for us, but I was wondering if any of the pro's on this board (or experienced amateurs) had any opinions or experience with this software.

I'm thinking we'll be doing a lot of tracing, font / word manipulation, and making vectors (for t-shirts and such.)

Mod's - feel free to move this if it isn't in the right spot, I wanted to get a lot of views.

"The views expressed here are mine and do not reflect the official opinion of my employer or the organization through which the Internet was accessed."

In looking more in detail at Xara, it seems to be a fairly good deal. I'd be open to trying it myself, but they don't have a Mac version, which highly irritates me. I'd maybe try the trial before committing to buying anything, but it looks interesting, nonetheless.

Thanks, Nitro.

I just found out my roomate has Photoshop 6.0 on his PC. I may play around with that as well as the trial of Xara. I know some of you guys have made some pretty slick logos with Photoshop, but from what I've read you don't have as much flexibility as far as drawing or tracing, or manipulating wordmarks and such. I could be very wrong, though.

"The views expressed here are mine and do not reflect the official opinion of my employer or the organization through which the Internet was accessed."

Sodipodi is a free vector editing program. You can't beat that price I doubt. I played around w/ it a for a few minutes one time and it wasn't too bad....for being free.

Check out the details at:

Sodipodi

Download the Windows version of the prog at:

Sodipodi Download

Edit: I added the direct link to the download page.

Thanks, Nitro.