Apple Mac Pro Question

Jimmy!

I've been a graphic designer for a small company for the last 2+ years. Love the job, and love the people, hate the fact that I work on a PC. Last night I was asked to do some research on upgrading to a Mac Pro.

I have a pretty good handle on what kind of machine we'd need to buy. The only head-scratcher for me is the video card. If I'm using Adobe CS3 (Photoshop and InDesign mostly) for all my work, does having a 512MB NVIDIA card make a significant difference over a 256MB ATI Radeon? If we went with a two-monitor setup, would one card support them both?

Thanks.

cv2TCLZ.png

"I secretly hope people like that hydroplane into a wall." - Dennis "Big Sexy" Ittner

POTD - 7/3/14

As far as I understand, the faster graphics card will only make a difference in your screen refresh rate when working with graphics-intensive programs (like Photoshop) or playing Halo.

If you're just doing basic layouts and not building hundred-layer Photoshop files with multiple masks and layer effects, you should be ok with the smaller graphics card.

Back-to-Back Fatal Forty Champion 2015 & 2016

Why the mac pro? Are you doing video? You realize that you could buy the basically the same thing you want for cheaper when you buy an imac? Top out an imac with 4 gb of ram, 1 tb hard drive, and a 24 inch monitor, you could get that for $2,500 and then buy a second monitor for what it would take to buy the basic mac pro. If you're doing video then go with mac pro, but as someone who looked into the mac pro for graphic design, it's overkill. The imac will do you just as well. The only program that you'll use that will use the 4 gb or more of ram would be a video program such as Final Cut Pro. None of the programs out there are even programmed to use more than 2 gb of ram, the aren't powerful enough.