Creating Gradients With Transparent Colors

the_cynic

I've been using Adobe Illustrator for about 3-4 months now and there's one thing I still can't figure out. How can you create a gradient that has two colors, one transparent in the center and the other a solid that the transparent fades out to? I first tried doing it in Illustrator using the Mesh tool but I quickly figured out that you can't do that.

examples.jpg

* I created these example in Macromedia Flash where you can incorporate colors with 0% alpha.

utah_jazz_signature_s.jpgdenver_nuggets.gif

Utah Jazz Retired Number's

#1 - Frank Layden - #7 Pete Maravich - #12 John Stockton - #14 Jeff Hornacek - #35 Darrell Griffith - #53 Mark Eaton

Retired Number's To Come

#00 The Bear (Best Mascot In NBA) - #4 Adrian Dantley - #32 Karl "The Mailman" Malone

:lol: Well, I'll gladly explain it.

What I did is created a circular shape on top of the logo on another layer. Then I did a radial gradient with black and white. Then I went to the Transparency palette, and changed the blending mode (the little drop down menu that says "Normal") to "Multiply". Voila.

Thanks a lot nitroseed but how do I change the position of center within the gradient?

#1 - Frank Layden - #7 Pete Maravich - #12 John Stockton - #14 Jeff Hornacek - #35 Darrell Griffith - #53 Mark Eaton

Retired Number's To Come

#00 The Bear (Best Mascot In NBA) - #4 Adrian Dantley - #32 Karl "The Mailman" Malone

make the gradient larger than needed and mask it with a smaller circle (or shape). then position the gradient like you need, and do your transparancy.

Carolina Dreamin'

ΓΔΒ ΓΔΒ ΓΔΒ

When a robotic Nixon is on the loose, we have a duty to take action.

Ahh nevermind, I found another way to do it. I'll just do what nitroseed said but this time with a Mesh.

Retired Number's To Come

Thanks a lot nitroseed but how do I change the position of center within the gradient?