Metallic Puma NFL Jacket from 1999

MCM0313

Hey, all. I have a short story to share with you.

In the fall/winter of 1999, I was a 15-year-old high school freshman. I've always liked bright, shiny colors (to the extent that, even as a heterosexual male, I thought Lisa Frank school supplies were really cool), but there was a definite trend in the late 90s and early 00s toward dark colors like navy and black. The one exception to that rule seemed to be metallic colors, which were commonly pretty bold (the exact opposite of the matte trend of today). Anyway, in the 1999 JC Penney Christmas Catalog, there were Puma NFL jackets and hats in metallic colors. They were not team-specific, just having the NFL shield on the front and back and the numbers "00" on the arms. The jackets were available in gold, silver, copper, and ice blue; you could get a matching hat for all but copper. I really liked the copper color so I asked for that, and it was my main Christmas present that year. I was a little disappointed I hadn't gotten one that had a hat to match it, but I'm not a hat person anyway, on account of having a huge head and lots of hair.