Looking for some help on Alternate Sport Logos

carloss15

Greetings to you all, i have this query and i hope this community can help me since i cound not find any official information myself.

I'm a designer student from Venezuela and i have this subject where i have to a make re-branding of any local brand, i picked a local basketball team and made everything for it from the logo to uniforms, court.. etc, but like in the NBA teams have the main logo and alternate logos i also made a couple of alternate or secundary logos that were born from the main logo, sadly my teacher disagrees with it even though i showed him that's what NBA teams do (there is nothing more top than the NBA in any matter), i gave him the reasons i could think of by logic, alternate logos are good for marketing, to change the main logo for an alternate one that is more simple when it comes to a small scale, etc. The alternate logos i made are born from the main one they share some elements they aren't even waaay too different.

He still has his doubts and he thinks that sport logo is like the Nike logo for example that you should never change the Swosh... It is different when it comes to sport logos i know, but i dont have like any official reason from a book or a professional. 

So that's what  I'm looking for a GOOD REASON Oficcial or not, from a book a magazine a professional or not from this community.

Regards

I agree with you 100%..

As far as dealing with your professor, firstly, Nike has changed their primary at least three times (the first three iterations included a wordmark with the swoosh, while the fourth is just the swoosh).. Secondly, you could argue that the swoosh with NIKE wordmark is the current secondary (with the wordmark alone standing as either tertiary or as a current nba wordmark would)