Jump to content

Definition of Sacrifice


Recommended Posts

Outs that advance the runners are not necessarily sacrifices. Some are fielder's choices. I think that to be a sacrifice, the batter has to put the ball in play in a direction that allows the runner to advance. Like a bunt towards first that moves a runner from second to third, or a ground ball to the right side of the infield that does the same thing.

If the batter hits a groundout to shortstop and a runner advances from second to third, that's not necessarily a sacrifice. The official scorer would have to determine if the runner advancing was due to the direction the ball was hit.

I think all flyouts to the outfield that advance runners on the tag up are sacrifices as well.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A sacrifice hit is always a bunt. It is when you obviously are not trying to get on base, your intent is solely to advance the runner. If you happen to reach on an error it is still a sac hit. But, if a guy bunts trying to get a hit, it's not a sacrifice. Basically at that point it's an official scorers decision.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just for the sake of completeness, here is the definition of "sacrifice" from the Official Baseball Rulebook:


a. Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the batter advances one or more runners with a bunt and is put out at first base, or would have been put out except for a fielding error.

b. Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the fielders handle a bunted ball without error in an unsuccessful attempt to put out a preceding runner advancing one base. EXCEPTION: When an attempt to turn a bunt into a putout of a preceding runner fails, and in the scorer's judgment perfect play would not have put out the batter at first base, the batter shall be credited with a one base hit and not a sacrifice.

c. Do not score a sacrifice bunt when any runner is put out attempting to advance one base on a bunt. Charge the batter with a time at bat.

d. Do not score a sacrifice bunt when, in the judgment of the scorer, the batter is bunting primarily for a base hit and not for the purpose of advancing a runner or runners. Charge the batter with a time at bat. NOTE: In applying the above rule, always give the batter the benefit of the doubt.

e. Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a fly ball or a line drive handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield which (1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or (2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer's judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught. NOTE: Score a sacrifice fly in accordance with 10.09 e. (2) even though another runner is forced out by reason of the batter becoming a runner.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.