St. Louis MLS Primary Kit

thebigeh

This is my first time posting a uniform concept here. This is based on the possible Major League Soccer team in St. Louis. It is only the primary kit, I did not do a secondary one. I did this using the primitive Paint program so it's obviously not the best looking thing out there. If any of you have Illustrator, feel free to take this concept and use it for yourselves. Here it is:

StLouisSoccer.jpg

I've based the design on the uniforms worn by the 1950 U.S. Soccer team when they upset England in a World Cup qualifying match in Brazil. A good number of the players on that side came from St. Louis. The movie The Game of Their Lives, which looks at that victory, had most of the story taking place in St. Louis.

The 1950 side had a red sash. My uniform substitutes red with green, as the colors blue and green are whats being used for the St. Louis Soccer United proposal to get into MLS. Look closely and their logo is used on the upper right side of the jersey. I didn't do a back side, but you could envision it as all white with green numbers and lettering.

Like I said, this is my first design that I posted here. And I did the best I could with what I have. Feel free to tell me what you think of it.

Well, I guess I will give you some real constructive critisism.

For starters the jersey is VERY plain, most MLS teams have a wordmark across the chest of the jersey, and then the team's creast on the upper right. I would put some sort of wordmark over the green sash. Or if you really feel that you don't have the skills to create a wordmark, some MLS teams just use a sponsor logo in its place--Maybe someting St. Louis based like Anheuser Busch.

Jersey and pant stripes in the MLS are pretty much what make up the jerseys, you need some pizzazz with this, simple sleve, collar, and a pant stripe aren't very appealing.