Design software advice

Bayne

Hi, I'm really interested in becoming a sign writer/sign maker, whatever you want to call it. I've always had a natural skill for the design and implimentation of signs and graphics to assist brand/business indentity. What I really want to know is, seeing as I've basically been self taught in a few random design programs, what software do you think would be most beneficial to learn for someone looking to get into this area of expertise? I really want to learn in broad strokes, so as not to limit myself if and when different skills are required in certain software, etc. I've heard such programs as Adobe InDesign CS5.5 and Corel Photoshop, even AutoCAD for the technical side of things but I'm so confused by it all and where to start. What I'd really like it a simple rundown of what each design software is good for so I dont have to keep guessing as to which one to start learning more on. Anyone care to offer some advice?

I'm Danny fkn Heatley, I play for myself. That's what fkn all stars do.

Basically if you download a trial of Adobe CS6 Design Standard, it will have all the necessary tools to design pretty much anything you need across the programs it contains, such as Illustrator, Photoshop, Indesign, and i believe Flash as well.

TDZiMMB.png

a lot of sign shops use Corel but i wouldnt recommend anything other than illustrator and Photoshop. you may be able to get away with just using illustrator

have to agree on this one. Adobe creative suite is definitely the way to go. We used to have Corel at work but binned it off in favour of the adobe packages.

logo.png

Thanks guys. I get the idea that photoshop is probably an 'easier' program to get initiated with than illustrator is... but are they compatible? If you learn photoshop, does any of that knowledge pass on to illustrator when you learn that? Or are they pretty different all together?