Zimbabwe's secret police look into logo change...

nlenihan

Hi all...

I'm new to CC's Sports Logo Community - and just want to say how great I think this site is!

So, for my first posting - I wanted to bring to your attention a story, highlighted on the Cricinfo website a while ago - I'm not sure if you're aware of it... When Sports Logos go bad!

Daily life in Zimbabwe throws up some bizarre stories, but few as odd as the one doing the rounds this week concerning the Zimbabwe Cricket Union's new logo.

ZCU-logo.gif

Introduced in November 2005 as part of a brand re-launch, the new logo has apparently attracted the attention of the government's 'infamous' Central Intelligence Organisation (CIO) [secret police, to you and I] who, so the reports go, held an investigation into a possible hidden agenda.

The logo appears harmless at first glance, featuring three stumps, a white line (representing a boundary line) on a green background, and a cricket ball.

But that innocence was lost on the secret police which saw more in the emblem than most.

Instead of three stumps, it saw a letter M; the cricket ball became a D; and the boundary line became a C. That spelt out the initials of the Movement for Democratic Change, Zimbabwe's major opposition party.

It is probably more an indication of how paranoid the authorities have become about anyone opposing the government.

---

Wow...Interesting. Very interesting. After you pointed it out to me, I definitely saw the MDC and I'm sure that others looking for it would see it too. I was curious about language spoken in Zimbabwe, and English is indeed the official language, so I wouldn't be surprised if the MDC was intentional. Thank you for sharing this.