NFL Champions League - Congrats 49ers! 2013 Champions League Title

Guest darkpiranha

Guest darkpiranha

Welcome to the NFL Champions League! Every year, the NFL division champions play four other division champions from the previous season. Of those games, which division champion does the best against the other division champions? That's the NFL Champions League, the league-within-a-league.

The origin:

My favorite new sports thing is the UEFA Champions League (I'm relatively new to the inner workings of world soccer). What a fantastic idea to have a full season-within-a-season of just the top teams from all the European soccer leagues. Along with relegation/promotion, it’s something I really wish we had in North American sports leagues. I started thinking about how a football Champions League could work with only one actual league in the entire world when I realized that there IS sort of a way the NFL pits its best teams against each other each year.

Since 2002, the NFL has had eight divisions of four teams, and a pretty rigorous way they schedule the games. Basically, each division plays against all the teams in one division in their conference and one division in the other conference. By default, that means each division winner is already playing two other division winners. Two games each season are played against the remaining two division winners from your conference. So each season, every division winner plays at least four other division winners from the previous season. It’s not a complete schedule of division champions playing all other division champions, but it provides for a great sampling each season.

Scoring and ranking: