Colorado Rockies Concept

JTynes

Hey guys, so this is my first post on here and I want to start off by saying I have really enjoyed checking some of your designs out. You all seem to be very educated about this stuff and that is why I have signed up to share my ideas with you all and to get feedback, both positive and negative. I want to introduce myself by saying I am an aspiring graphic designer that has always had a major interest in sports. I am currently chasing my Associates Degree in Visual Communication & Design and working to master programs such as Illustrator and Photoshop. When I came across this website, it taught me how to incorporate my degree with sports other than just creating logos; and that was something I didn't even think about before.

My first post I want to share is my Colorado Rockies logo. I wanted to obviously build my design with a mountain theme in

mind. So the first thing I did was draw various types of mountain tops that could be used in the final logo. At first, I really liked the middle design the most and tried to create the team name underneath with a bulge in the center. Something just didn't right, however, so I played around with the other two a little bit more. I then came up with the first step of the logo I have now.

ScreenShot2014-07-01at90612PM_zps7f31a11

Please keep in mind that this is not a finished logo. I do know that it looks very amateurish and I am looking for some feedback before I continue.

ColoradoRockies_zpsb49676aa.jpg

I would like to hear what all of you think so far and what I could improve upon and I will continue to showcase my design process as I progress. Thanks for reading!

ColoradoRockies_zpsb49676aacopy_zpse9e39

I like this, but it still feels incomplete. It doesn't really feel like a mountain anymore, sort of looks like a sideways lightning bolt. I'd suggest either extending it down to the bottom of the logo, or adding a whole mountain bit and making the current bit look like the snowy peaks.