App Startup Logo

pr17ch

Let me start off by saying that I'm very new to design. I've been working on an app. startup and I needed a logo.

I really wanted an R to be the main logo and wanted to incorporate a star somehow without being a rip off of the Rockstar games logo. I wanted to keep it simple but make a logo that can standalone even in black and white.

I am by no means an expert. I did these in a paint on a Macbook. I have no experience with photoshop or any graphic design programs.

I've always been a fan of the site and figured why not give it a go. I understand that this is very rough work but I'm just looking for some feedback on the general design of the logo and where I can improve. 

The app name is Ringers if that helps.

Which one is the best of the 4?

R.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 11.09.51 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 11.10.07 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 11.13.02 PM.png

Welcome to the forum!

I'd say your second option is the best choice at this stage. The R in the first logo looks a little too playful and childish, I think, sort of clashing styles between a straight-edged star and a curvy R. In my opinion, the other options are much stronger. Though the reason I would pick the second one is because the little space between the R and the star might suffer when being viewed at small sizes, especially for something like an app icon (if thats what you're doing). If you like the space between the R and the star then I would suggest to make it a little more noticeable or thicker. 

11 hours ago, alicejackson said:

Logo design that you created looks average.

<MOD EDIT>

Don't buy into this. You can make logos yourself that are unique, professional, and good-looking without resorting to some scam like this. Logo generators generally only produce templated, boring logos.

Regardless, I think what you have is a good start. In my opinion, number four is the best out of all of them. I think the font matches the star.