Dallas Stars Secondary Logo

Morgan33

I am not a designer by any stretch but its something I hope to get into when money pertains. I've always been interested in the asthetics of sports and have been collecting Jerseys for as long as I can remember. This is the third concept I've ever attempted and the first I've posted here so keep that in mind when judging... Its also a work in progress.

Now about the logo...

I was inspired to make a secondary logo for the Dallas Stars a long time ago after reading a topic where members on this board advocated changing the team colours to either Red and Blue or the Cowboys scheme of Navy and Silver. As a fan of the identity since the days of the Northstars (theres something about that Green Black and Gold scheme that has always seemed so fresh to me) I was dead against this. I dont remember who it was but somebody posted a picture of the Dallas Skyline at night and the colours of the city mirrored the Stars scheme so perfectly that I set out to make a logo that reflected this. Initially I wanted to incorporate the entire skyline but after scaling back my ambitions I decided to do secondary patch that depicted the Bank of America Plaza with its green lit edges.

The logo has a few historical nods to the Northstars franchise. The first being the use of the colours from the franchises last two years that stuck around for the first year in Dallas (Kelly Green). The second being the partial stars logo in the upper right corner representing the North Star.

StarsSecondaryLogowithwhiteoutline.png13704_dallas_skyline_at_night.jpg

C & C would be greatly appreciated, thanks for looking!

That looks like a really good start, but the building somehow lacks depth. Possibly try detaching the green and white outer outlines of the building from the circle? I'm thinking that if only the closest corner of the building is attached to the circle, it might add to the perspective.

Also, the 'D' looks generic and flat... I'd look into replacing it.