Hi (From England!)

gloggy

I stumbled across this site while doing some research on NFL uniforms for some paintings I've been commisioned to do. You guys really take your uniforms seriously! As an artist, I take authenticity very seriously and I've found loads of resources to make sure I get colours and designs just right, it's a great site! Being from England, it might suprise you to find that I do paintings of NFL players for English fans, but there are a load of us here who really follow the game and the people I paint for are very particular in what uniforms they have their pictures done in.

So I just wanted to say hello and keep up the good work!

As you guys seem real experts, I have a question that maybe you could answer about 49ers uniforms. Around about 1988, the 49ers went from having thick white stripes on their jerseys to thinner stripes and skinnier sleeves, yet I can't find any record of this in the uniform changes. The only exception I can find is in Super Bowl XXIII, Joe Montana reverted to the thick stripes just for that game, wearing a jersey very similar to the one worn in Super Bowl XIX. Is there a reason for this (perhaps a lucky shirt?!)?

It's only a small detail I know, but something I noticed for a painting from that game that I did a while back.

please excuse me if I've posted in the wrong section!

Well it may have been just a case of last minute replacement rather than the lucky shirt idea. Since the 49ers were wearing screen printed jerseys rather than tackle twill at the time it would've been rather easy to find an old blank jersey and have it screened with the requisite numbers and nameplate if his previous jersey was ripped up or significantly damaged.

km3S7lo.jpg

Zqy6osx.png