Norfolk Admirals 20th Anniversary Logo

BostonBlazer

The AHL's Norfolk Admirals have just recently unveiled their 20th anniversary logo. It's better than their previous logo IMO. It's actually not bad.

20thAnniversaryWeb.jpg

It looks good! Their new RBK Edge look is horrible though. The logo doesn't match and the colors of red, royal, and yellow are not very pleasing to the eye.

I think its a decent looking logo, a bit busy maybe. My problem is it doesn't really say 20th anniversary to me. It looks like they just wrote it in after the logo was finished. However, im not really familiar with the history of the team logos so maybe this amalgamation does the job.

goforbroke_zpsb07ade0a.jpg

As a Norfolk resident, I can offer a bit of commentary. The logo is supposed to be a "combination" of the four logos the Admirals have had in their history. The first logo was an anchor surrounded by five stars. The second also featured the anchor with stars. The current logo is the battleship shooting the Oreo cookies. The current colors are red, blue, and yellow, so the colors are right. It's not being put as a main crest on a jersey for now. If anything, it might be a patch or the center ice logo. Former Admiral Dennis McEwen came up with the idea, so it's from a hockey player's mentality (at least McEwen's mentality).

The logo is supposed to be a "combination" of the four logos the Admirals have had in their history.

Yep, that's why it's a mess.

Had forgotten that they added blue to their colors when they went to EDGE jerseys, but they still use a black battleship logo. Looks strange to me in blue.

Wow. That is an unmitigated disaster.

Looks like something I'd've done six-plus years ago for my rec league team (also named the Admirals).

Buy some t-shirts and stuff at KJ Shop!

KJ BrandedBehance portfolio

POTD 2013-08-22

On 7/14/2012 at 2:20 AM, tajmccall said:

When it comes to style, ya'll really should listen to Kev.

Wow. That is an unmitigated disaster.