Question for the tech-heads out there...

tBBP

I really didn't know where else to post this thread, so it's here.

Some time in the near future, I'm looking at retiring my trusty but old Mac desktop machine. It's served me very well for almost three years now and was actually a graduation gift from my school...but that thing's on its last legs and I fear anyday now that thing may very well just blow up on me. (Having it in this dusty environment over here probably ain't helping matters, either.)

Here's my question: I've got close to 500 fonts loaded onto this machine, many of those customized fonts. Is there a way to somehow pull all those off my Mac machine and save them to my backup external hard drive (with the intention of then reinstalling them on the next Mac machine I get)? If so, how do I go about doing that?

FWIW, it's a Mac G3 I've got here.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

~Buc

*Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on stuff...I just do a lot of reading and research and keep in close connect with a bunch of people who are authoritative experts on stuff. 😁

|| dribbble || Behance ||

Would it be as simple as dragging and dropping them from the fonts folder to the external hard-drive?

I know I got some fonts from the school computer using just a flash drive, so idk. Good luck though.

BROWNS | BUCKEYES | CAVALIERS | INDIANS |

I'm a mac user, and I am 99% sure that what LEWJ said is the way to do it. Just find your fonts folder, and drag it to the drive, then drag them all into the new computers font folder.

I've swiped many a font from school/work computers by doing exactly what LEWJ said!

Just go to your User Library and drag and drop the Fonts folder to your hard drive. If you use FontExplorer or another font management program there should be a separate font library folder somewhere in the User Library, or in the program folder itself.