How I would do things/Color tweaks

srj34

I'm so glad I found sites like Uniwatch and this one. I've long had an interest in sports colors/logos/uniforms, and it's cool to see there are a lot of like-minded folks out there. I've been lurking for a while, and you all do such amazing work. I'm a hardcore newbie at doing this stuff, so expect my design contributions to be rough and minimal for a while.

Long before I found these communities, I was appalled at the huge ocean of blue running rampant throughout the NBA. If I had dictatorial powers, I would frame design guidelines in two ways:

1) The longtime/long-successful NBA powers shouldn't be changed much. A NOB tweak here, a jersey-style change there, but that's it. For example, I find yellow and purple to be an excessively gaudy and ugly combination, but the combo belongs to one of the most successful franchises in the history of pro sports. I would never touch the Lakers design fundamentals. Ditto the Celtics, Bulls, Spurs, Warriors, Knicks, Pistons, 76ers, Pacers, Suns, or Trail Blazers.

2) Mascot/team nickname should go a long way toward influencing team colors. I don't think there's much blue involved with Thunder or a Bobcat, hence I would change those teams' color schemes. The exception to this is guided by #1 above - I don't know what's so yellow and blue about a Warrior, but that franchise has been around as long as the NBA has. They've worn those colors since before I was born (I'm 36), so for better or worse the Warriors should always wear yellow and blue.

OK, I've babbled enough. I'm OK with Denver's logo and wordmark right now, but I hate their color scheme. So my color tweak for Denver involves precious metals - nuggets of gold, obviously, but I like involving silver as well, with white, gray and black for trim. Speaking of gray, there isn't one NBA team with a gray jersey - even a third jersey - around today. This led me to the idea for new Denver road unis:

DENSnewh.jpgDENSnewR.jpg