Jump to content

You Make The Call


WJMorris3

Recommended Posts

The Cleveland Indians are hosting the Kansas City Royals at Jacobs Field.

In the first inning, Casey Blake is on second base, Travis Hafner is on first, and there are two outs for Victor Martinez. Martinez lines the Ryan Jensen pitch very hard, where it hits the corner of third base, takes a weird rebound, bounces off the facing of the third-base dugout, and comes to a rest in foul territory. John Buck pounces on the ball and throws it to Mark Teahen at third before Blake gets to third base.

You are the umpire. Is Blake safe or out and why?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

hes out. I think. because if a ball hits a bvase it is always a live ball. Anyway, it doesnt matter because the Indians played the A's today. :P Speeking of Mark Teahen, I watched him play ball in AAA Sacramento last year before they traded him to KC and KC traded Beltran to Houston and Houston gave the A's the crappy Dotel. He was really good. Anyway that was way off topic but am i right?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If it hits the bag, it's a fair ball. Depending on the ground rules of the stadium is key here. If the railings are in play, and the rest of the play follows suit, the force out would be made at third. If the railings are considered out-of-bounds, then it's a single, all the runners move up 90 feet, and the bases would be loaded, since there was no fielding error.

I would say the result is an out, since the ball hitting the base is considered to have hit the ground.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Depends upon the ground rules. If the Jacobs Field ground rules state the facing of the dugout is in play, then Blake is forced out at third base, because the ball is fair if it hits the base before going foul.

If the facing of the dugout is a dead ball, then it's a ground rule double, Martinez goes to second, Hafner to third, and Blake scores.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure it would be a foul ball if the batted ball hit the rubber and caromed foul. The pitcher's plate is considered part of the mound, unlike the rosin bag or bases which are objects on the field.

That's correct, but he said third base.

Unless you were speaking to something I missed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure it would be a foul ball if the batted ball hit the rubber and caromed foul. The pitcher's plate is considered part of the mound, unlike the rosin bag or bases which are objects on the field.

That's correct, but he said third base.

Unless you were speaking to something I missed.

I know he said third base, I answered it correctly. Each field has its own set of ground rules, so this same situation in Fenway, for example, might be a fielder's choice (a force out at third).

I was just noting the different ways objects on the field are treated. Bases/rosin bags/splintered bats etc. are not part of the field, so once any of those are touched by a batted ball, the ball is fair.

I believe the rubber is, so if a ball hits it and lands in foul territory (and is touched there), then it's a foul ball.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Oh okay, sorry bout that JP.

As for the rubber being part of the field, you are correct. I read over all the MLB Rules that related to this question last nite (turns out I should have been looking for Jacobs Field Ground Rules), and what your saying is one of the things I learned.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.