Field painting

Cola

Okay, for the last 5 years I have been doing the field painting for the high school I went to. I started when I was a sophomore in high school and having been doing it ever since. Here is my problem, every year I have to FREE HAND the logo in the middle...then going over it every week isn't so bad. Does anyone know a good and cheap alternative to making a stencil or something? I happen to think I do a good job and I could probably even post some pics possibly. I really enjoy painting it and haven't really made a mistake YET- but I'm afraid I will and it's not easily corrected. If anyone has any info on it, web pages on it, or any kind of experiences; I would love to hear about it. Thanks...

Any time I've had to freehand something in a large format and a lighted projection wasn't feasible, I've divided the artwork into gridded sections, then focused on making each square perfect when I painted the larger copy. I don't know if I articulated the concept well, but if not, I can try rewording it.

Well sometimes I would print out the logo and as strange as this may say I would divide it up and "count off steps across the field". I would also sometimes layout a small rope if there was a curve or something; I would lay it like I would want it painted and paint over it. It's just hard to paint each individual square when you are talking about something that is at least 10'x10'. Anyone know of something that is good to use for a stencil- even if the stencil has to be pieced together?

I would suggest buying a cheap bed spread.  Draw an outline of the logo and punch holes (sort of reverse version of connect the dots.  Then put it on the field, with white paint, paint those dots.  Once finished, uncover it, and now you have the outline and can paint the rest of the way.

2004 San Jose Sharks 7th Man Fan of the Year

San Jose Gold Miners - 4x Lombardi Cup Champions