Something I whipped up this weekend

undead

I've been thinking about doing this concept for a while. It's based on the Discovery Channel show "Deadliest Catch". In case you don't know, the show is about crab fishermen in the Bering Sea. I discovered that another name for crab fishermen is "Crabbers". It sounded interesting so I made a baseball concept of it. The thought behind the logo is this, the crabber throws out a buoy connected to the trap that catches the crab. It takes some time for the crab to assemble in the trap so the crabber uses the buoy to find the traps later. I changed the buoy to a baseball. Behind him are icicles because the storms in the Bering Sea make ice collect on the ships. My real inspiration for the logo is I finally wanted to make something that shows motion. My logos are always a 3/4 view of someone either facing left or right.

The font is heavily modified by me(pretty much a first). My wordmarks always look so drab so this is my first attempt at a sort of bevel. I also added crab claws to make it unique. Without further babbling, here it is:

crabbersprimarywithoutline.png

Normally, I work on a concept, put it aside, work on it some more. I literally don't post my concept for months after I start them. I figured I would try something different here, get it as finished as possible and then post it. You guys have helped me so much in the past, I figure why not use you at an earlier stage.

Let me know what you guys think.

bobschultz6

' class="bbc_url">@

bobschultz6

It's a great start. Just way too many things going on, but it's very clean.

I'd say lose the icicles. They didn't translate well at all to me at first, and I didn't know what they were until I read your description. I think it compiclates things a bit, and just takes up space.

Not a fan of the colors. Maybe change the gray to a light blue, and darken the royal/navy. The gray makes it seem so drab and not eye catching.