Could use some help with Phoenix Firebirds logo

chestnutz

So I like to look around at people's concepts, and decided to take a stab at making my own logo. I've been doing some sketches and decided to digitize it with Inkscape. I'm not very good at it and I think it'd ok for a first try, but would love some advice to make it better.

By the way, I will be adding secondary logos, wordmarks, unis, etc (it's a football team).

It came out a little weird, I don't know why it's dark like this but oh well...

firebirdprimary.png

By the way, this is a very rough draft and just wanted some advice before I take it any further.

spacer.png

erikas | go birds | dribbbleΒ 

Three words: Simplify, simplify, simplify.

Boil things down to very simple shapes. Keep the frills ? like the details on the wings ? to a minimum. Use thick, dark lines, and find ways to use solid colours instead of gradients. Pick two or three colours and stick with them.

waay too many unnecessary points and edges. look at similar logos for comparison.

kCkLFSX.pngWGUTHKC.pngnbweR1j.png

ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq Δ± ǝɯıʇ Κ‡sɐן ǝΙ₯Κ‡ sΔ± sΔ±Ι₯Κ‡

I think the logo would be helped greatly by looking more like a bird. If I were you, I'd start over by drawing a hawk or eagle and then modifying the image to make the bird look like it is made of flame. Further, I would take a look at all the great logos that have been produced on this board and note what they have in common; bold lines with simple and complimentary color schemes.

cttdolphins2.png

Aside from the beak and wings, I'm really not getting "bird" from this much at all. It's shaped more like a hand puppet, to be honest. There's really no definition of shape, differentiting between beak, wing, chest, leg etc. Rather than making it primarily maroon, mix in other colors to actually give it depth, kinda like how it's done here:

LaMon_aqh1w249nyyfq2ypi75b.gif