Premier League to NHL: Man United

heernumurr

months ago i posted my first concept, a liverpool fc hockey idea, which i thought was good for a first concept because ive been drawing liverpool shirts since i was about seven years old.

Liverpool FC Hockey

well i finally got internet access again so i decided for my second concept i'd make liverpools new hockey team someone to play against. so who better than their biggest rivals (sorry, everton fans) MANCHESTER UNITED!

we all know about man united, biggest team in the world etc. but as far as club identity goes, not much has changed over the years. their nickname is the red devils, but apparently thats only after they stole it because it sounded good. in logo terms, this translates to a quite vague devil on the club crest and the vomit inducing Fred the Red.

so i decided to try and go down the devil route, making more of the imagery and what is a great nickname (by football standards anyway). the thing is, no sooner have i clicked freeform pen tool, i happen to catch a certain annoyingly awesome new jersey rebranding by GhettoFarmBoy. so i looked at that, cried a little inside, then went for something a bit simpler and cartoony. i think it worked out ok, as this would possibly be more in keeping with uniteds worldwide-all-of-the-family fanbase. i did however keep the trident as a secondary, as this seems to be at least as important as the devil itself.

manulogosheet2.gif

for the jerseys, i decided to keep it simple, but i also wanted to try out a branding idea with adidas. i love adidas, think theyve got a great hit rate with their designs, and unlike lots of people, think theyve earned the right to stick those three stripes on everything! so ive tried to imagine my british league has a deal like the nhl/rbk one, and had a go at what i think they might do.