Oklahoma City Cyclones logo/uniforms

HelluvaDesigner

Hi. I'm new to this board, but I love it already. It's nice to see so many people as obsessed with sports identity as I am.

I'm a design student currently working on finishing up my portfolio, and I want to get some more sports stuff in it so I may actually get paid to do this some day.

I've already shown this to a couple teachers and my class, so I'm currently working on some of the changes they suggested, but I wanted to see what other feedback I could get on my original product as well.

I'll post some updates soon. Thanks.

OKCcyclones2.jpg

I'm a Ramblin' Wreck from Georgia Tech and a helluva... designeer?

teams_signature.jpg

Don't have much time, but real quick:

Basketball number fonts usually look better when they are tall, not wide. The ones you are using now look way too wide to look right on an NBA jersey. The colors and name are fine by me. The cyclone needs some work IMO. It doesn't have much motion to it, its just a bunch of C's stacked on top of eachother that ends in a triangle. I like the overall shape your have going on with the logo, but just rework the cyclone so it looks more like it's moving and maybe terrorizing, and you have something good here. Oh, and don't forget the number font. Nice job.

Thanks for your feedback. I just used the font as is for the numbers, but I'll alter them to make them taller. I thought they were a little squatty.

I'm working on redrawing the cyclone now.

A question I have for people is this: Sports logos seem to always have all the accent colors to add some dimension and really thick (and multiple) strokes to make it all one unit. It appears more in college logos I guess, but do you think it's bad to have it be "flat" like mine is? I've always kind of thought less is better - like strip away all that isn't necessary - but for some reason sports logos seem to go against that.

teams_signature.jpg