Florida Colleges Retro Rebrand Concepts

raysox

I had an itch I couldn't scratch for some logos I wanted to see, good thing i'm a logo designer.

If you didn't know, both South Florida and Central Florida had much more unique  team names before their current Bulls and Knights names, respectively. USF was the Goldan Brahmans, which is a type of cattle that looks like it has a goiter. The name is unique, even if Bulls is much more recognizable. 

So with this, I traced a Brahman for a front profile looking mascot. Then, added a palm tree and sunset in the negative space created by the lack of features on the front of a bull. To be honest this looks like a normal bull too, so I would just remove the bump at the top to transform the breed.

USF-Golden-Brahmans-Dribbble.png

The case with UCF is a little bit more known. A citronaut, to the best of my understanding, is a citrus shaped astronaut? Some sort of freak that i'm sure a student drew for meal vouchers. Every couple years they bring out the logo for their football team and everyone says go back to it. Well, what if they did and made it look more detailed? There's not a hidden message like the other, besides the star symbol being pulled directly from their university crest.
UCF-Citronauts-Dribbble.png

Would love to hear your thoughts! Just kind of a fun idea I had. It's not the last one I want to do in this series. Look forward for another mid-sized Florida school that drifted away from god's light and changed to a much more boring name.

• Like 8
  • Love 1

The Citronaut looks great. Would love to see some full-body versions of him playing different sports. 

The USF logo doesn't do it for me though. I understand that you went for a realistic look for the Brahma, but as it stands right now, it doesn't look very intimidating. I do love the negative space palm tree though.