Wearing Team Gear As a Form of Expression

johnnysama

I don't know where to put this, but since it involves athletic gear to an extent, I think I will put it here.

I am a drama student, in addition to being a sports fan. I have a good-sized cap collection, most them are MLB gamers. Each day, I decide to come to class wearing a different one each day. My drama teacher says, in regard to that, I am expressing myself in a nice way about sports in general.

Now, this is supposed to be a deep topic, people. No smart-alceky responses here. What do you guys think of all this?

UBwef0L.png

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

She's right - every time you get dressed you're making character choices.

And sports are a good cultural shorthand - you can express local pride (or, by repping the local rivals, a contrarian nature). You can stand out, or hide in plain sight based on the gear you choose.

Yeah, you can always tell which students are from the Bay Area here on the U of O campus because they all rock Giants gear (hats, shirts, etc.).

Whenever I travel I'll always pack 1 or 2 Oregon Duck things so I can express my fanhood in other places and maybe stir up some conversation with fans of other teams.

But I also wear a majority of Duck stuff all the time when I am in Eugene because I love to, simple as that.

I think the whole "repping your area" thing has blow out of proportion.

I live in FL now and wear my Yankees hats and have morons telling me to go back to NY. I left for a reason, I don't like living there. I'm not "repping" my city. I'm wearing the hat because I like the baseball team. Sometimes it leads to discussions with people who are from there too, and we talk and that's cool.