Who here works full-time for themselves?

nyjet88

Just curious who on this site works full-time for themselves as a designer.

Possibly share some stories of how you got started?

Reason being, I am looking to go full-time for myself within 2 years and I also thought this would be a good thread.

Thanks.

I've been fantasizing about it for the last several years, but work has gotten in the way...

Until I was laid off a couple weeks ago. I'm really looking into making this happen now, so I'd love advice as well :)

The below to be updated once the newest banner is raised!
spacer.png

It has been a dream of mine to own my own studio (still is). I came close last year after I graduated college. I started freelancing for a few local businesses, got screwed over bigtime on a project due to lack of planning and not having proper contracts in place. I also worked as a contract designer at a local studio part time. Opening a business of my own right now would be career suicide in this economy, so I've put that idea on the back burner for a while.

I'm not full time for myself yet, but we've gotten to the point where my wife works from home. It works out well this way, because she has time to meet with clients during the day, while I'm at my day job, then I can work on projects at night. We were scared about her not having a steady "regular" job, with the economy the way it is, but we've been able to make it work. The biggest and best bit of advice I can give is to not give your work away. Don't let clients bully you into seeing what you can do for them without them signing a contract and getting that promise of payment.