Jim Johnson has passed away

NEW.ERA

R.I.P. Jim Johnson. Man I know he'll be missed BIG TIME in Philadelphia...and in NFL circles.

*Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on stuff...I just do a lot of reading and research and keep in close connect with a bunch of people who are authoritative experts on stuff. 😁

|| dribbble || Behance ||

Very sad. I had a feeling something was up when they promoted the interim DC to the full-time job. Still, very sad.

He was wheel-chair bound shortly after the NFC Championship loss to AZ, but continued to coach some minicamps, before taking a leave-of-absence. It is unfortunate, but it was only a matter of time. I think Sean McDermott's promotion had more to do with the realization that Johnson wouldn't be back for training camp, and less because his death was imminent (not sure if they even knew how close he was, though it was known that the survival range for people with his cancer was less than 2 years, and he was treated before last season.)

I rarely check the "user comments" on ESPN.com stories, after quickly realizing that 99% of people who post on those are just idiots, but I looked tonight, and have to say that I'm floored by the responses from fans of the other NFC East teams. The show of respect for Johnson is very refreshing.

"The views expressed here are mine and do not reflect the official opinion of my employer or the organization through which the Internet was accessed."

Even if people aren't Eagle fans (or are rivals) respect is so well deserved for Johnson. He's part of the reason I'd tune in to every Eagles game, and it's truly tragic to see him go, especially as a diehard Philly fan. I understand he probably wouldn't have done much for the team this year, but to see him go is just, well, sucks.

RIP

Edit: Never realized he had 100 wins in 10 years, that's incredibly impressive.

spacer.png

erikas | go birds | dribbble