US Soccer Crest Tweak

lost_limey

I was looking at different elements as I was thinking about doing a US Soccer concept (I may still do that, not sure) and as I studied the US crest, I was becoming annoyed that it featured blue stripes and stars on a red field whereas the US flag has those reversed (Red stripes and stars on a blue field for those of you unfamiliar with the US flag) So I recolored it to fix those elements. Here's the recolor

US_Soccer_logo.png

If I do continue the concept to a full kit, I'll likely modify this further to 13 stripes, and probably 11 stars for the players on the field.

That actually looks much better. Some of the stripes are bleeding into the outline, but it still looks pretty good.

EDIT: The gold stars are a nice touch as well. Makes the gold outline seem like it actually fits.

I think you should put the original next to it so people can see properly just how much of an improvement this is, the current US logo is getting a bit tired, that's for sure.

I honestly don't think there's enough of a difference between the current logo and this minor tweaking of it that it needs the original there for reference.

I think solid white stars might look better, but I wanted to tie the gold from teh outline in so that it didn't look like an afterthought.

There's always the option of removing gold altogether. Three outlines and 4 colors is overkill anyway.

Correct me if I am wrong but I thought for international soccer purposes using gold stars or gold on your kit meant you won the World Cup.

pissinonbobsmall.jpg

Giving money and power to government is like giving whiskey and car keys to teenage boys.

P. J. O'Rourke

g4403.pngg4267.png

A quick side-by-side of the Current US soccer logo (on left) with my tweaked version (on right)

Quick Summary of tweaks:

* Re-colored stripes and field base for stars

* Changed stripes to 7 red, 6 white, just like us flag

* Changed to solid white stars

* Dropped gold outline (and gold altogether)