Yet another Mets uniform proposal

New_Member

I know a lot of people in these forums have already proposed uniforms without any of the hideous black. Well I'm including mine. This is my first attempt at a uniform concept. (It's not especially radical)

I made the set pretty loyal to the Mets original unis. I've added an alternate cap with a orange brim, although I'm not sure how it should look. The blue comes across pretty dark, but the orange and blue are supposed to be the same as the Mets have now.

I've also added a second patch on the right shoulder of the uniforms. I used MS Paint to make these and I couldn't add it the uniforms, but I put it in on the side. Its the NL logo, modified with the Mets colors. Considering the Mets were an expansion team to appease those Dodger and Giant fans loyal to the NL, the Mets should display its logo.

Metsuniforms1.jpg

metscaps1.jpg

Agreeing with LMU here.

The only difference I see between home alt #1 and #2 is in the cap. But that still leaves you with 3 alternate jerseys.

Alternates are meant to be a 3rd choice between the customary home whites and road grays. They're not intended to give teams a closet full of options to wear a different set every day. Keep them as a change of pace if you have to keep them at all. Remember, uniforms serve first and foremost as a means of identification. How is someone going to remember the Mets if their look is changing every day?

The execution is very nice. Getting rid of the black is always a plus - I give the Mets a pass if they included black as an homage to the old NY Giants. But at most it should be a trim color, and they let it get way out of hand. Royal blue and black don't go together. Can you hear me, Kansas City?

"Start spreading the news... They're leavin' today... Won't get to be a part of it... In old New York..."

2007nleastchamps.png

In order for the Mets' run of 12 losses in 17 games to mean something, the Phillies still had to win 13 of 17.