UFC 116: Lesnar vs. Carwin

Shmee

I think we have a few MMA fans on the boards, so I thought I'd check in and see what everything is thinking about this weekend's big UFC 116 event featuring heavyweight champ Brock Lesnar returning from a serious illness to take on the interim champ, undefeated Shane Carwin. What are everyone's picks for the big card, especially the main event?

Before anyone cries foul, I'll be upfront that I am currently an intern with the company. But, I was a fan before getting the gig and am truly interested in seeing what everyone thinks. The world seems pretty evenly split on who's going to win. I'm looking forward to the show and just got word yesterday that I will be getting to work at the event, so I'm excited.

sticksstones4.png

The world's foremost practitioners of professional tag-team wrestling.

That's a hell of an internship, Shmee.

Anyhow, I'm going with Corwin because I think Lesnar is massively rusty after being off for about a year due to illness. Corwin, being more seasonsed during that time where Lesnar was on the DL, is (from what I see) a deadly force. Corwin will win via spilt decision, if you ask me.

I think if Lesnar can take him into the 2nd round or beyond he has a chance...Carwin is a beast, but hes never hit anyone quite like Lesnar though.

Kings Cross AFC -BIP, Winnipeg Falcons - TNFF, St. Louis Archers - MLF

I told ya Brock is a different sort of animal...and hes tapping guys out now, he could be even scarier as he goes along

Kings Cross AFC -BIP, Winnipeg Falcons - TNFF, St. Louis Archers - MLF

I can't say I'll never doubt Barack, I mean Brock Lesnar again, but it'll be a long ass time before I do. I though Carwin was going to kill Barack...ooops, Brock in this one.

On January 16, 2013 at 3:49 PM, NJTank said:

Btw this is old hat for Notre Dame. Knits Rockne made up George Tip's death bed speech.