Marauders Logo Concept

This college, part of the Dakota Athletic Conference (same as my Comets concept) is the University of Mary. Silly name, yes, but I thought I could do something interesting with a name like the Marauders. They currently have a pirate theme going on, so I tried to build on that, and make it more intimidating with the skeleton pirate.

I know I have some issues, like the background flags, and some irregular shapes in the chest area, but this is more like a first draft to get some first impressions and comments.

In the maritime spirit, here ye be:

marauderspng.png

I love the logo/design, but I'm not a huge fan of the color scheme, more specifically the orange. I'm not sure if just changing the orange to another color would work...maybe it needs a complete recoloring. But like I said, the actual design is great.

i dont know, there really isnt any action in the logo, know what i mean? hes just staring off at the viewer. he should be charging or something like that. it would make it more dynamic.

as far as the colors, they dont need changed. flags can be gotten rid of, and the wordmark can be made less cartoony. just smooth out the guy, and you are golden.

I will assume that the pirate and flags will be cleaned up and looking sharp next time around. My suggestion is not with those, but with the font choices. Right now "Marauders" is 1950s horror movie, when a different font may work better. There are lots of fonts with "crags" that might do the trick, or find a good look then add a few crags yourself. For the University of Mary- I think that font is close to what it needs to be. For time, concentrate on the Marauders.

The University of Mary, originally called Mary College, was an all-female college founded by Catholic nuns. The school went coed in 1969. In bringing men into the school, the college added athletics.