MLS Design Concepts

cyandlux

When someone suggested the MLS logo needed a redesign I figured I would make a new logo. The I decided to do a series out of possible expansion opportunities. Not including Vancouver, Portland or Montreal.

First up is the new MLS logo. Enjoy.

mlslogo.jpg

Kits coming soon.

As a Tampa Bay resident, I would much rather see a return of the Mutiny, rather than the rowdies. As far as the league logo, I like it, but I think it could do without all of those highlights.

30vja50.png

GIANTS_REDSOX_CELTICS_LIGHTNING_BULLS

As a Tampa Bay resident, I would much rather see a return of the Mutiny, rather than the rowdies. As far as the league logo, I like it, but I think it could do without all of those highlights.

I too would like to see Tampa Bay return to MLS, but just looking at the success of the new FC Tampa Bay using Rowdies colors and informally being called the Rowdies, I think thats the way to go. Many people look at the Mutiny as a flop, but if the Rowdies were to return I think they could succeed.

What does the light blue diamond in the middle of your MLS logo stand for?

How would it look with a mainly white/-ish soccer ball instead?

the rest is pretty cool

I'm looking forward to your other concepts, if you have time, why not do a San Diego one too.

I think it looks too Canadian. The leaf seems to overpower everything else (including the star to represent the US), and makes it look more like a logo for the National Soccer League of Canada. I just don't think a star shouts "America!" like a maple leaf shouts "Canada!"

What does the light blue diamond in the middle of your MLS logo stand for?

While I'm not the designer, I can tell you the "diamond" you mention is what would be a black panel on a traditional/stereotypical soccer ball. That part I actually got right away. White panels are hexagons, black panels are pentagons. See below.

1191261777ZgTPco.jpg

sticksstones4.png