The NEW New Orleans Saints

BlueSky

This concept is a collaboration between me and Bucco_B, so we've each written an intro:

SkyAA1

I'm not a designer and have never done a concept, but a while back I started thinking about what a great Saints uniform would look like. My admiration for Bucco_B's work led me to approach him about collaborating, and he has been very generous with advice and suggestions, not to mention executing the concept. We used some Saints work he had previously done combined with my ideas, and from nothing more than e-mailed descriptions of how I saw these unis, he pulled it all together and made it come to life with his outstanding dynamic template.

While my favorite concepts and real-life uni updates are always strongly influenced by the team's heritage, my intent here was to make this uniform different from anything the Saints have had before. As a Saints fan since 1969, I believe they must make a near-complete break from their losing past, and this concept extends that to their on-the-field look.

Nearly every Saints concept uses a gold or black helmet, but some time ago, Georgia Tech wore white throwback helmets with a gold "GT" logo and they were beautiful. I thought, "Why not the Saints?" For the rest, I wanted to resurrect their old shade of gold and Bucco's suggestion was to use a lot of it, which really works here. The shoulder/sleeve design, similar to some 60's Broncos sets, was driven by today's jersey cuts. Shoulder stripes and sleeve stripes just don't work well, nor does a simple logo with no contrast. I like the Saints' current wide pants stripe so we just added some contrast to that. I really don't care for most "modern" looks with pointy helmet and pants stripes and so on. Finally, in the past I've not been a fan of either the "state" logo or the gold alts, but Bucco B suggested using them and they really work with this look IMO. We even found a tiny way to incorporate a crescent, as in the Crescent City. Look for it!