The Golden Rule of the NFL

Voodoo Child

This is a pet theory of mine, and one I'm hoping that you'd all agree with me with: NFL teams look the best when they only have two "main" colors, that is, the helmet, shirt, and pants only have two colors between them.

A basic example: the Jaguars.

090703brunell180h.jpg

Black/Teal/White looks alright, but compared to Black/Teal/Black...

110903mathis180h.jpg

There are a lot of teams this could go for. This may be a bit of personal taste, but I think it holds true pretty much across the board. I just think that the uniform looks disjointed and "off" when three colors are used.

And sorry for the small pictures...I'm new at this whole thing.

I think overall, this is simply opinion, but I see your point. I do enjoy when a team simplifies and uses as few colors in large spaces.

I also like teams that are one color + white... Jets, Redwings, Leafs, Mich State, etc.

NCFA Sunset Beach Tech - Octopi

ΓΔΒ!

Going to college gets you closer to the real world, kind of like climbing a tree gets you closer to the moon.

"...a nice illustration of what you get when skill, talent, and precedent are deducted from 'creativity.' " - James Howard Kunstler

I find that theory invalid.

I believe a uniform looks great based on design and using the correct colors and design. I have seen three-color combos that are some of, if not THE best in the league. There are also some that are atrocious.

Likewise with the two-color approach.

It's not about two or three color combos, it's about design and using the colors in the correct manner. Sometimes it is better to go with only two base colors, other times, three works fantasticly well.

Stay Tuned Sports Podcast
sB9ijEj.png

just another example here, the Cincinnati Bengals...

No combination will ever make those Bengals uniforms look good.

Amen to that, those are just freakin ugly on the field. Stylish to wear to the club, but FUGLY on the field.