Pinstripes

RuffDawg

Something I got to thinking about recently...

While I've never been a fan of pinstriping on baseball uniforms (or any sports uniform, for that matter), I wonder if there's a specific number of stripes used by any particular team and if so, what the reason is for it. Back when I worked in the auto business, we were taught about how many bars were on a particular manufacturer's grille and that it was their trademark -- do any teams have a similar thought process, is it set by the uniform manufacturer, or what?

teamlogossig.png

There comes a point when you don't stand for the constant heartbreak anymore, and walk away.

While I've never been a fan of pinstriping on baseball uniforms (or any sports uniform, for that matter), I wonder if there's a specific number of stripes used by any particular team and if so, what the reason is for it. Back when I worked in the auto business, we were taught about how many bars were on a particular manufacturer's grille and that it was their trademark -- do any teams have a similar thought process, is it set by the uniform manufacturer, or what?

I'm pretty sure the only thing uniform is the style of line (thickness, color, pattern, spacing)...if there were a set number of stripes you'd have massive distortions...imagine having to fit the same amount of stripes on a size 44 vs. a size 54.

I'm pretty sure the only thing uniform is the style of line (thickness, color, pattern, spacing)...if there were a set number of stripes you'd have massive distortions...imagine having to fit the same amount of stripes on a size 44 vs. a size 54.

Yeah, the width of the stripes and gaps are constant, it's the size of the uniform is not. They said CC Sabathia wears the most pinstripes of anyone ever to play for the Yankees.

65caba33-7cfc-417f-ac8e-5eb8cdd12dc9_zps